Textile Vintage Fair

“The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair. The beauty of a woman is seen in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides. True beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It’s the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows & the beauty of a woman only grows with passing years.”
— Audrey Hepburn

I attended the Textile Vintage Fair today with the lovely Mel.  We both hadn’t been before and didn’t know what to expect … here’s what we discovered

Walking into a crowded room filled with people and over 40 stalls, sent my little heart into delight.  The smell of vintage, the vast display of floral patterns and bright colours brought memories of my two nana’s back to life.  The vast array of stalls included dresses, coats, hats, shoes, jewellery and one-off vintage fabric swathes sent me back in time to the 50’s and 60’s.  I really think I was meant to live in this period, I love everything about it – the glamour, the clothing, shoes, bags, social outings, cooking and house making.  Yes, it sounds a little weird coming from a 25-year-old woman but the memories I have from my grandparents photo albums makes it all seem amazing.  Scanning through all their black and white photographs filled with laughter and happy memories is heartwarming.


We made our way around the stalls one at a time, taking time to soak in the bright coloured clothing and an enormous collection of accessory items like handbags and vintage shoes my grandmother’s would have worn – we tried some on for fun and man were they uncomfortable.  I don’t know how they survived wearing them for a social event let alone for a whole day at an office job.  All of my grandparents were wonderful, my Nana Adamson was a wonderful women who had three jobs and raised two sons, her and my Poppa owned a Shell Petrol station and Mechanic Workshop in Marton (photo below).  My other Nana Wall lived on a very large farm 70 hectares in Bethlehem, Tauranga with my Poppa and four children (one of them being my mother) – when my Poppa got cancer they had to sell the farm and move into town (a nightmare thought for a farmer to move to the city).

Adamson Gas Station early 1960’s – Pictured above is my grandparents – Beryl and Ron Adamson with my father Bruce (aged 9 or 10) and a workstation worker at their gas station and mechanic workshop, Marton – New Zealand

We came across some hand gloves, the kind that comes up to your elbows in lace fabric, to my disappointment the gloves couldn’t even fit over my hand and I have tiny hands – craziness.  The lady behind the counter informed me women in this era were a lot smaller, the gloves were made to fit a size 5 hand and mine is a size 7.  We have all gotten a lot larger these days, 😦 so I didn’t buy the gorgeous lace gloves.

I did buy this gorgeous apron for baking 1950’s and 1960’s style.

I love it! Until next time …

Leave a Reply

